Auburn signee Asa Martin wins 2017 Mr. Football award

For the fourth time in six years, Auburn will have a Mr. Football as a part of it’s signing class as Austin running back Asa Martin was awarded with the state’s highest individual football honor.

Martin finished the season with 2,228 yards on 198 carries with 33 touchdowns. He also caught 20 passes for 399 yards and two touchdowns, along with throwing two touchdown passes as well. Martin was able to accomplish all of this, despite splitting carries with Antonio Robinson who had over 1,400 yards himself.

Austin was one of the favorites to make a run to the Super 7, but the bracket layout had them face eventual champion Pinson Valley in the quarterfinals where they lost 51-50 in an overtime thriller. Martin ran for 261 yards and three touchdowns against the Indians and also had a 41-yard pass.

Martin edged out Pinson Valley quarterback Bo Nix, who is also an Auburn commit. Nix is the son of Auburn great Patrick Nix, who is also the head coach at Pinson Valley. The full Mr. Football results are below:

RB Asa Martin (Austin) – 170 (10)
QB Bo Nix (Pinson Valley) – 144 (1)
QB Taulia Tagovailoa (Thompson) – 143 (1)
WR Justyn Ross (Central-Phenix City) – 111 (2)
OL Tank Jenkins (Park Crossing) – 66
WR Ahmad Edwards (Thompson) – 65
RB La’Damian Webb (Beauregard) – 64 (last year’s winner)
OL Pierce Quick (Hewitt-Trussville) – 46
ATH Jermaine Brown (St. Luke’s) – 33
OL Clay Webb (Oxford) – 29
Cardavion Myers (Piedmont) – 27
ATH JD Martin (Wetumpka) – 23

Also awarded were the individual class Back and Lineman of the Year awards. Here is the full list of winners:

7A Back – QB Taulia Tagovailoa (Thompson)
7A Lineman – OL Pierce Quick (Hewitt-Trussville)

6A Back – RB Asa Martin (Austin)
6A Lineman – OL Tank Jenkins (Park Crossing)

5A Back – RB LaDamian Webb (Beauregard)
5A Lineman – DL Malik Langham (Lee-Huntsville)

4A Back – RB Symon Smith (UMS-Wright)
4A Lineman – LB Riley Russell (Cherokee County)

3A Back – ATH Cardavion Myers (Piedmont)
3A Lineman – DL Andres Fox (Mobile Christian)

2A Back – ATH Jermaine Brown (St. Luke’s)
2A Lineman – DL Baraskious Dowdell (Lanett)

1A Back – ATH Shamar Lewis (Sweet Water)
1A Lineman – DL Devin March (Houston County)